Kenosha Crew Girls second at Valentine’s Chicago Land Indoor Soccer Tournament

/Submitted photo

/Submitted photo

The Kenosha Crew Girls participated in the first annual Valentine’s Chicago Land Indoor Soccer Tournament. The tournament was held February 10 at the MAX Athletic & Exposition Center in McCook, Illinois. The Crew Girls ranged from ages 12 to 14, and ended up taking second in the tournament playing some really strong Illinois teams. The first game matched the Crew against Tinley-Frankfurt S.C. were the Crew dominated offensively and won with a score 4-0. Madison Bailey placed two balls in the back of the net, along with Sydney Stull and Rachael Woods each getting a scoring opportunity. The Crew goalie Kelsey Gross made some tremendous saves and putting up a shutout in her first ever soccer tournament. The second game paired the Crew girls against Naperville Premier Comets. This game went back and forth and ended in a 3-3 tie. Goal scorers in this game were Allyson Slomkowski, Madison Bailey, and Deja Simpson each scoring for the Crew. The team was lead defensively by Megan Jensen and Mackenzie Fricke. The third game the Crew girls played the undefeated Chicago Power Strikers another Illinois premier team. This game the Crew girls were over powered and defeated by a score of 8-2. Goal scorers for this game were Deja Simpson and a spectacular header from Madison Bailey just within the 18 yard line. Evan with this defeat the Crew girls beat out the competition by 2 points to win a rematch against the Chicago Power Strikers in the championship game. The championship game was closer than the score would show with the winning team scoring two goals in the final minutes. The championship game the Power Strikers defeated the Crew girls 5-2; Deja Simpson scored the only two goals for Crew in this game. Two top performers for the crew in the tournament was Morgan Keefer, and Alaina Snider who assisted with majority of goals scored and helped shutdown and contain the outside play for the teams.  The Kenosha Crew team participants were: Mackenzie Fricke, Kelsey Gross, Megan Jensen, Madison Bailey, Sydney Stull, Alaina Snide, Morgan Keefer, Deja Simpson, Rachael Woods and Allyson Slomkowski. The team is coached by Nathan Weishuhn.


Comments are closed.

  • Follow us on

  • Archives