Wilmot Raceway results May 21

What started out as yet another rainy day in Wisconsin turned out to be a great night for racing as despite contrary predictions the skies cleared and the Wilmot Raceway got their 2011 season underway Saturday.

Seventy-five cars representing four divisions took season opening green flags on a very racy Wilmot Raceway surface. When the final checkered flags had waved Wilmot Raceway had Andrew Kiedrowski (Mini-Sprint), Brandon Riedner (Street Stock), Eriik Grosch (Pro-4), and Chris Carlson (Modifieds) visit their Miller Lite Victory Lane, as these drivers were the first to taste victory in 2011 Wilmot Raceway competition.

Here’s some video from the Modified A Main:

Kiedrowski overtook early leader Adam Schroeder in a very fleet Fec’s Place Mini-Sprint main event. Kiedrowski opened a commanding lead by the midway point, though defending track champion Todd Lehr was running down the leader when his winning bid went up in smoke courtesy of a blown engine. Ron Brannam, John Kirk, Randy Reed, and Schroeder.

Brandon Riedner had one of the longer tows to Wilmot Raceway, however the visitor from the north made his efforts pay off as he was victorious in a very competitive RA Adams Enterprises Street Stock feature event. Riedner was able to keep a two car length advantage all race long over the three wide racing trio of Justin Brown, Robert Maule, and Pat Rossman. Maule would get trapped behind a lapped car allowing Rossman to get by.

Riedner would take the win over Brown, a charging Rossman, Maule, and Joe Brenner.

Defending division champion Erik Grosch picked up where he left off by taking the victory in the Hawg Heaven Fearless 4 main event. New to 2011 is the addition of the Pro-4 class which compete together on the track the traditional F4 class. Grosch representing the Pro 4 class topped fellow P4 drivers Tom Happ, and Evan Townsend. Taylor Dawson came home fourth overall and first in the F4 class, however Dawson was later disqualified. Scott Reddin came home fifth.

A great looking field turned out in the Don’s Auto & Machine Modified division providing a spectacular headliner that would conclude the evening. A great 20 lap dual for the win between Mike Bodendorfer and Chris Carlson entertained the crowd as this heavy weight battle went the distance. Bodendorfer would hold off the repeated challanges by Carlson for the bulk of the event, however Carlson eventually prevailed in the late stages and was able to claim the win and the Sevcik Motorsports trophy. Bodendorfer came home an impressive second over charging Andrew Araco. Joel Crowbridge edged Jimmy Morrison for fourth in this ultra-competitive event. Ryan Marshall entered the main event as high point man following earlier preliminary action and decided to take the Tony Jenkins Bonus Challenge and trade in his eighth place starting position for 20th and last on the starting grid. Marshall would pass several cars early only to experience handling woes and settle for a 9th place finish in the end.

Wilmot Raceway will host the touring Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series this coming Saturday, May 28. This will be the 2011 410 winged sprint car debut at Wilmot Raceway. Joining the 900 horsepower IRA rockets will be the Don’s Auto & Machine Modifieds, and RA Adams Enterprises Street Stocks in a Memorial Day Weekend must see event.

Then on Saturday June 4, see the legendary Chris Carr as he rides on his farewell tour as part of the AMA All-Star Flat Track Motorcycle Special. Check out www.wilmotraceway.com for information on all the highspeed action coming to the Kenosha County Fair’s Wilmot Raceway.



Comments are closed.

  • Follow us on

  • Archives