Paris School receives state nomination as Blue Ribbon School

Paris School is among the seven elementary schools and one high school that are Wisconsin’s nominees for the 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools program.

Nominations for the national recognition program are based on criteria in two categories: dramatically improving schools and high performing schools. Dramatically improving schools are those that have made adequate yearly progress and have at least 40 percent of their student population from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Disadvantaged is defined as eligibility for free or reduced-price meals. Student achievement on state assessments must have improved over the past five years to now be above the 60th percentile in reading and mathematics.

High performing schools also must have met the state’s adequate yearly progress objectives for the previous two years and be among the top 15 percent of all schools for that grade configuration on state assessments in both reading and mathematics.

“I am pleased to make these nominations to the Blue Ribbon Schools program based on national criteria,” said State Superintendent Tony Evers. “Schools must work with their communities to ensure all students are learning and gaining the skills they need to graduate ready for the workforce or further education.”

Nominated schools must complete an application from the U.S. Department of Education that focuses on results and scientifically based instruction. The federal education department reviews applications and will announce Blue Ribbon Schools next September. Schools earning the award receive a plaque and flag signifying their status as a Blue Ribbon School. A principal and teacher also will be invited to attend a recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., next fall.

The other schools are:

  • Beaumont Elementary School, Green Bay Area School District.
  • Fremont Elementary School, Weyauwega-Fremont School District.
  • Gaston Elementary School, Beloit School District.
  • Kennedy Elementary School, Janesville School District.
  • Locust Lane Elementary School, Eau Claire Area School District.
  • Rib Lake High School, Rib Lake School District.
  • Whittier Elementary School, Milwaukee Public Schools.

Comments are closed.

  • Follow us on

  • Archives